Discovery Foundation

Established in 2006 as one element of Discovery Holdings’ black economic empowerment transaction, the Discovery Foundation is an independent trust that is investing at least R150 million in grants towards developing South Africa’s scarce specialist healthcare resources.

Funding guidelines

The Discovery Foundation Awards include scholarships, bursaries and research fellowships as well as support for teaching and research institutions.

It is expected to support training of around 300 new medical specialists over ten years – focusing on training specialists for rural areas, developing academic medicine and research centres and increasing the number of sub-specialists.

The Discovery Foundation makes four groups of awards each year to outstanding individual and institutional candidates, benefiting academic medicine, rural healthcare, specialist training and service delivery and innovation:

  • The Discovery Foundation Rural Fellowship Awards aim to attract and keep medical doctors in rural areas by facilitating access to resources and opportunities to develop professionally.

  • The Discovery Foundation Sub-specialist Awards aim to address the shortage of funded training posts in HPCSA-registered sub-specialties at accredited South African academic and affiliated institutions.

  • The Discovery Foundation Academic Fellowship Awards aim to promote research-focused training in academic medicine in South Africa.

  • The Discovery Foundation Excellence Award is an award to boost healthcare resources by recognising an organisation that shows excellence in service delivery, training and innovation

Click to download the Evaluation of the Discovery Foundation: a 10-Year Review

Application deadlines

Please download the 2015/6 application brochure for further information regarding the awards and application criteria.

Please note that in the case of institutions we also require your banking details on your institution's letterhead, signed by two senior members of your institution.

Application deadlines are as follows:

  • MGH, Sub-specialist Awards and Academic Fellowship Awards – 15 October 2015

  • Rural Fellowship Awards and Excellence Award – 15 January 2016

Click to download the Discovery Foundation application brochure

Click to download the Discovery Foundation reporting form